PGA Tour Player of the Year voting begins Schaeffler and Rahm, two-way match?

Rahm (left) and Scheffler shaking hands after playing a round together.

Voting to select the Player of the Year, which determines the best player in the 2022-2023 season of the PGA Tour, and the rookie with the most outstanding performance began on the 5th (Korean time).

The PGA Tour announced the five candidates for Player of the Year on this day.

Players who participated in more than 15 competitions in the 2022-2023 season will vote for these five players until 5 p.m. on the 15th, Eastern time.

The winner will be announced at the first competition of the 2024 season, Sentry, which opens on January 5th next year.

Candidates for Player of the Year include Scotty Scheffler (USA), Jon Lam (Spain), Viktor Hovland (Norway), Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland), and Wyndham Clark (USA).

Player of the Year is expected to be a two-way battle between Scheffler and Rahm.

Schaeffler won the championship twice, ranking first in stroke average and first in prize money rankings.He competed in 23 events, finished in the top 10 17 times, and competed for victory in almost every event.His strength is his consistent performance without ups and downs.

Winning the Hero World Challenge right before voting is also a good news to attract votes.

However, the lack of a major championship trophy is a weakness.

Ram won the Masters, ranking first in most wins (4 wins).

Rahm has an advantage over Scheffler in that there is almost no precedent for a player who has not won a major championship to be selected as Player of the Year.

The variable is that it is chosen by vote.There is a possibility that Ram may lose votes due to the recent rumors of a transfer to LIV Golf.

Hovland, who won the FedEx Cup playoffs, is somewhat inferior to Scheffler and Lahm.

Although he achieved outstanding results, including two wins and second place in average at-bats, McIlroy is also not good enough to be selected as Player of the Year.

Clark, who has two wins, is impressive for winning the US Open.However, he appears to have to be satisfied with being nominated for Player of the Year.

There are four candidates for Rookie of the Year: Ludwig Arbery, Vincent Norman (Sweden), Eric Cole (USA), and Nico Echavarria (Colombia).

Arbery, who is the only rookie to win a championship trophy, appears to have the greatest advantage.

Arbery, who joined the tour late in the season after graduating from college, played in 11 games, made 10 cuts and had four top-10 finishes.He won the last competition of the year, the RSM Classic.

Cole was the strongest candidate for Rookie of the Year until Arbery won.He competed in 37 races, finished in the top ten seven times and finished runner-up twice.

The key point in the Rookie of the Year competition is how many votes Cole will receive. 19가이드03

One thought on “PGA Tour Player of the Year voting begins Schaeffler and Rahm, two-way match?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *